Is It Possible to Hide From Someone on Facebook?

Written by carolyn luck
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Is It Possible to Hide From Someone on Facebook?
Hide from friends temporarily or permanently. (Jupiterimages/Goodshoot/Getty Images)

While Facebook is useful for connecting and sharing with friends, there may be times when you wish to remain hidden from view. Facebook privacy settings allow you to restrict the visibility of your presence on the social network. You can adjust your privacy settings to browse and interact on Facebook without letting other users know you're there. Whether you wish to hide temporarily from Facebook Chat or permanently hide with Facebook block lists, you can do so in just a few clicks.

Other People Are Reading

Facebook Chat Availability

Facebook Chat is a messaging feature that allows you to send and receive messages instantly with friends. The chat box in the lower right corner of any page reveals a list of friends available to chat. Remove yourself from your friends' chat lists by adjusting your chat availability. Sign in to your account and click the chat box to open it. Click "Options" and "Go Offline" to hide your name from Facebook Chat availability lists.

Facebook Friend Lists

Facebook friend lists allow you to group your friends into categories and create customised privacy settings. You can remain hidden from some groups while staying connected with others. After you create friend lists, you can adjust your chat availability to hide from some friends and remain visible to others. Sign in to your account and click the "Friends" link that appears in the left sidebar of your profile. Click the "Edit Friends" button on the resulting page and click "Create A List" to open a pop-up list creation box. Click the friends you wish to add and scroll down and click the "Create List" button. Click the chat box and move the switch to the "On" or "Off" position for each friend list that appears to hide or remain visible.

Block Lists

The block list feature allows you to remain permanently hidden from individual Facebook users. When you block someone, all connections are lost. You can no longer access each other's pages or content, and your names will be absent from one another's Facebook search results. Sign in and click the "Privacy Settings" option under the "Account" tab in the upper right corner of any page. Scroll to the "Block Lists" section and click the "Edit Your Lists" link. Enter the name or e-mail address of the user you wish to block and click the "Block" button. Click the user from the list that appears in the resulting pop-up box and click the "Block" button to hide.

Facebook Privacy Settings

Facebook privacy settings allow you to determine which Facebook members can access your content and which members are restricted or limited. Your name, profile picture, gender and networks are always visible to everyone, which allows friends to find and connect with you. Much of the information contained within your profile is open to everyone by default. Sign in to your account and click the "Privacy Settings" option under the "Account" tab in the upper right corner of any page. Scroll to the "Sharing On Facebook" section and click "Customize Settings." Click a setting for each item listed to restrict or allow access to your content. Allow access to "Everyone," "Friends Of Friends" or "Friends Only," or use the "Customize" option to set individual privacy levels. Click the "Preview My Profile" button to see how your content is accessible to other users.

Don't Miss

Resources

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.