How to Remote Wipe an iPhone

Written by jacqui lane Google
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Remote Wipe an iPhone
(Jupiterimages/Comstock/Getty Images)

Wiping your iPhone refers to restoring the software to the condition it was in when it was shipped from the factory. All personal data such as contacts, call history, text messages and purchased applications are removed. If your iPhone has been lost or stolen, you may want to remove that sensitive data to prevent someone else from using it for malicious purposes. If you are a subscriber to Apple's MobileMe service, you can use the Remote Wipe function to restore your phone to factory condition even when you no longer have access to it.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading


    Enable "Find My iPhone"

  1. 1

    Tap "Settings" on the iPhone Home screen and select "Mail, Contacts, Calendars."

  2. 2

    Tap the name of your MobileMe account.

  3. 3

    Tap "Find My iPhone" and tap "Allow" to enable the service.

    Perform a Remote Wipe

  1. 1

    Open your Web browser and navigate to Sign in to your MobileMe account.

  2. 2

    Click the "Account Settings" icon--it is the same icon used for "Settings" on your iPhone.

  3. 3

    Select "Find My iPhone" from the navigation menu on the right side of the page.

  4. 4

    Click "Remote Wipe" and confirm that you want to erase all data on your iPhone. Click "Erase All Data" to restore the phone to factory settings.

Don't Miss


  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.