Motorcycle Mirror Laws

Updated July 20, 2017

Although all states have slightly different laws regarding the bare minimum of equipment necessary to make a motorcycle street legal, most require at least one mirror. Some states require the mirror to be on the left side of the motorcycle while a few leave the side optional. There are a few states that do not require any mirror at all or that have grandfather laws that allow vehicles built before a certain year to opt out of the law.

States that Require a Mirror

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming and the District of Columbia require at least a rear-view mirror on the motorcycle.

Kansas and Louisiana have further laws requiring there be a mirror on the left side of the motorcycle.

States that do not Require Mirrors

Mississippi, Missouri and Nebraska have no mirror laws.

States with Grandfather Laws

Indiana requires only motorcycles built after January 1, 1956, to have a rear-view mirror.

Pennsylvania requires all motorcycles built after April 1, 1977, to have two rear-view mirrors.

Cite this Article A tool to create a citation to reference this article Cite this Article

About the Author

Christopher Mahar earned a bachelor's degree from Skidmore College and a Master of Fine Arts degree in creative writing from NYU. His first job out of school was writing for "The Harlem Valley Times" in Dutchess County. Since then, Mahar has worked in public relations and as an adjunct professor in NYU's writing department.