How to Delete My MSN Email Address

Written by jason artman
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Delete My MSN Email Address
You can delete an MSN e-mail address you no longer use. (e-mail image by fotoman_65 from Fotolia.com)

You can delete your MSN e-mail address if you don't use your account or decide you prefer another free e-mail service. To cancel your MSN account, you use the built-in account closure page found after you sign in.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Browse to the MSN Mobile sign-in page using the first link in the Resources section of this article. Log in with your MSN account information. If you do not have an MSN Mobile account, skip to Step 3.

  2. 2

    Click the "Delete my Account" link if you are logged in on your computer, or tap the link if you are logged in on a smartphone, then return to your computer.

  3. 3

    Browse to the Windows Live sign-in page using the second link in the Resources section of this article. Log in with your MSN account information.

  4. 4

    Click the down-facing arrow next to the blue question mark icon in the upper right corner of the MSN inbox, then click "Help." A new window opens.

  5. 5

    Click inside the "Search" box in the upper left corner of the window, and type "cancel account." Click the magnifying glass icon.

  6. 6

    Click "Why are all my e-mail messages gone?" on the list of search results. "Close Your Account" appears on the right side of the window.

  7. 7

    Click "Close a free Windows Live Hotmail account," then click the "Windows Live Hotmail close account" link that appears below.

  8. 8

    Click the "Close Account" button at the bottom of the window. The window changes to confirm that "Your e-mail account is now closed."

Tips and warnings

  • Also follow these steps to delete a Hotmail account.
  • If you change your mind within 90 days of deleting your MSN account, you can re-create it by returning to the Windows Live sign-in page and logging in to the account.
  • Deleting your MSN account will also delete all of your saved messages. The messages are permanently deleted even if you change your mind within the 90-day window.
  • When you delete your MSN account, the account name is free to be selected by someone else. Before deleting the account, make sure you have informed all of your business and personal contacts to prevent the damage that might be caused by someone creating the same account and impersonating you.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.