How to Delete Netflix Viewing History

Written by contributing writer
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Delete Netflix Viewing History
You can delete your Netflix viewing history, but only by cancelling your membership. (movie scene image by Nicemonkey from

Netflix is one of the most popular ways to watch movies. In addition to renting movies and having the DVDs mailed to you, you can also view many of the movies Netflix offers online in a streaming format. As with most things online, the site keeps a virtual record of all of your activity. You may not even be aware of it, but every selection you've made is documented. There is a way, however, to purge that record permanently. To delete your Netflix viewing history, however, you must cancel your account and then resubscribe.

Skill level:

Other People Are Reading


  1. 1

    Sign in to Netflix using your username and password.

  2. 2

    Click on "Your Account & Help" in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. Find the section called "Account Information." Click on "Cancel Membership."

  3. 3

    Read each item carefully and understand that by doing this you will not only be purging your viewing and rental history, but your queue as well. Click the box on the bottom of the page next to the sentence that reads, "I accept and understand the terms of cancellation and want to cancel my account." Then click "Complete Cancellation."

Tips and warnings

  • After you have cancelled your account, you can resubscribe to Netflix using the same billing information. You can also rebuild your movie queue.

Don't Miss


  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.