DISCOVER
×

How to Clear Phone Memory

Updated April 17, 2017

Clearing the phone memory on your device can help when you are running low on memory, purchase a used phone, or simply want to restart at default settings. A phone memory clear will restore the original factory settings and may erase all contacts, messages and downloaded content (including ringtones, images, programs and contacts) stored in the internal memory. Back up any information that you do not want to lose permanently.

Select the "Menu" option from the main screen on the phone.

Scroll to and select "Settings."

Scroll to and select "Phone settings."

Scroll to and select the "Security" option.

Select the option to "Reset" or "Wipe."

Select the memory options that you want to clear from the device, such as "All," "Sound settings," "Display settings" or "Phone settings."

Select the "Reset" option to begin the clearing process.

Click "Yes" when a confirmation message appears.

Type in your security password. If you have not set up a password, the default is typically 1234 or 0000 (four zeros).

Select "OK" to finalise the process.

Tip

Steps may vary slightly based on your manufacturer (such as Samsung or Nokia). Please refer to your specific manufacturer's site for details.

bibliography-icon icon for annotation tool Cite this Article

About the Author

Ryan Mooney has been a professional writer and editor in the technology, game, and design industry for seven years. Currently, he works in the mobile technology field. He has been published on eHow, About, Today, and New York Magazine (nymag.com). He has a Bachelor of Arts in English from East Stroudsburg University.