Are Cheerios Vegan?

Written by annelies de groot Google
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
  • Introduction

    Are Cheerios Vegan?

    Veganism is a diet consisting of the restriction of all animal products for either ethical or health reasons. Strict vegans consider honey a byproduct of bees. Even stricter vegans do not eat white cane sugar as the filtering process may contain animal carbon. There are many versions of Cheerios, some containing animal products and some simply white sugar.

    Your breakfast staple of Cheerios may not be vegan. (bowl of cereal image by pearlguy from

  • 1 / 4

    Common Ingredients

    All Cheerios brands contain the following ingredients: Whole grain oats, vitamin E, calcium carbonate, zinc, iron, vitamin C, vitamin B6, vitamin B2, vitamin A, vitamin B12, vitamin D3. Most versions of the cereal contain corn syrup, salt and white sugar. White sugar is restricted from strict vegan diets.

    Whole grain oats are the most common Cheerios ingredient. (cereal image by Zbigniew Nowak from

  • 2 / 4

    Frequent Vegan Ingredients

    Many of the eleven Cheerios cereals contain the following ingredients that are considered vegan: corn meal, cornflour, brown sugar syrup, trisodium phosphate, added colour, canola and/or rice bran oil, whole grain corn, dried corn syrup, corn bran, modified cornflour, rice flour, oat flour, whole grain rice, whole grain barley and whole grain wheat.

    Corn is a well used ingredient in many of its forms. (corn image by Deborah Durbin from

  • 3 / 4

    Non-Strict Vegan Cheerios

    Frosted Cheerios, Banana Nut Cheerios, Berry Burst Cheerios, Chocolate Cheerios, Whole Grain Cheerios, Multi-Grain Cheerios, Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, and Fruity Cheerios all contain various ingredients that are vegan except for the white sugar. These other ingredients include fruit purées, brown sugar, natural flavours and colourings and vanillin as well as other ingredients.

    White sugar is a controversial vegan ingredient that may or may not be included in one's vegan diet. (cristal-glass sugar-bowl and white sugar image by Maria Brzostowska from

  • 4 / 4

    Non- Vegan Cheerios

    Cheerios Crunch, Honey Nut Cheerios and Yogurt Blast Cheerios all contain either honey or nonfat milk along with their other ingredients. Nonfat milk is not included in any vegan diet and many vegans do not include honey.

    Many vegans consider honey a bee byproduct and restrict their intake. (honeypot with some honey image by Francois du Plessis from

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.