Histamine Free Foods
Many people are intolerant towards histamine, which is found in a number of food items. Histamine is not very easy to avoid, however, the level of its intake can be reduced substantially if you are aware of which ingredients to use and which to avoid.
If you do not avoid histamine food ingredients, you can be a prey to allergies and migraine headaches.
Dairy, Vegetables and Fruits
Among milk and dairy products, the only allowed products in a histamine-free diet are plain milk and ricotta cheese, with all other products restricted. As far as vegetables are concerned, all fresh and frozen vegetables are free from histamine except eggplant, sauerkraut, pumpkin, spinach and tomato. All juices are free from histamine as well, except ones made from restricted ingredients. The allowed fruits are apple, cantaloupe, banana, figs, grapes, grapefruit, honeydew, lemon, kiwi, pear, rhubarb, lime, mango and watermelon.
- Among milk and dairy products, the only allowed products in a histamine-free diet are plain milk and ricotta cheese, with all other products restricted.
Breads and Cereals
Any plain bread, biscuit, buns, pizza dough made from unbleached flour or grain is histamine-free. Baked pies, cookies and similar baked items are also allowed as long they do not contain artificial colours, flavours, anise, cheese, chocolate, cinnamon, cocoa, cloves, margarine, jams jellies, preservatives, baking mixes or dry dessert mixes. Among cereals, all plain grains, oatmeal, plain oats, plain cream of wheat and puffed wheat and rice are allowed. You can also eat plain pasta.
- Any plain bread, biscuit, buns, pizza dough made from unbleached flour or grain is histamine-free.
Meat, Poultry and Legumes
All freshly cooked poultry or meat is histamine-free, while all seafood is restricted. Plain, cooked egg in any form is also allowed. Among legumes, all legumes are safe to consume except soybean and red beans. Pure peanut butter is harmless as well.
- All freshly cooked poultry or meat is histamine-free, while all seafood is restricted.
Nuts, Fats and Oils
All plain seeds and nuts are histamine-free. Among fats and oils, pure butter, pure vegetable oil and salad dressings made at home with allowed ingredients should be good to consume. Meat drippings, lard and homemade gravies are also benign.
Spices, Herbs and Sweeteners
All dried, fresh and frozen spices and herbs can be consumed except anise, cloves, cinnamon, hot paprika, curry powder and nutmeg. Seasoning packets and foods labelled "With Spices" should be avoided. Among sweeteners, sugar, molasses, honey, maple syrup, corn syrup, icing sugar, jellies, pure jams, conserves, marmalades, plain artificial sweeteners and homemade sweets made with allowed ingredients are safe to consume.
Beverages and Miscellaneous
Pure juices, plain and carbonated water and coffee are allowed. Among alcohols, only plain vodka, white rum and gin are histamine-free. Other miscellaneous ingredients that can be used in cooking include baking powder, baking soda, plain gelatin and cream of tartar.
Dr. Muhammad Haq has been writing for over 10 years on medicine and health issues in the "British Medical Journal" and on various websites. He graduated from the University of Edinburgh with a degree in medicine and obtained membership in the Royal College of Physicians in the U.K. Dr. Haq has been teaching in the Gloucestershire Royal Hospital since.