How to cancel migration assistant

Written by shereen skola
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to cancel migration assistant
Cancel the program if Migration Assistant freezes. (Thinkstock/Comstock/Getty Images)

Migration Assistant is a program used to transfer files and information from one Mac to another. It's often used when you upgrade to a new model. You can transfer your information with Migration Assistant using FireWire, Ethernet, wireless network or a backup disk. Sometimes, when a large volume of information is being transferred over a wireless network, Migration Assistant can freeze, or it can take longer than you want to wait. Though cancelling the program during a transfer isn't recommended, it can be done in two simple steps.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Hold the "Command" key and type "Q" on the new Mac for five seconds until the program quits.

  2. 2

    Hold the "Command" key and type "Q" on the old Mac for five seconds until the program quits on the old computer.

  3. 3

    Press the power key and hold for five to 10 seconds on both computers to power down.

  4. 4

    Turn the power on both computers to begin the Migration Assistant program a second time.

Tips and warnings

  • USB or Ethernet connections are the most successful ways to use Migration Assistant. Using a wireless connection is the least reliable method.
  • Cancelling Migration Assistant during the transfer process can result in a loss of data. Be sure to back up your information using Time Machine or another method before you begin any transfer.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.