Permanently deleting your Facebook account gives you the opportunity to start fresh with new friends and content. Facebook offers two ways to remove your account: deactivation and deletion. If you deactivate your account, all information will disappear from view, but you have the option to log back in at a future date and restore your account to its previous state. If you delete your account, Facebook will permanently remove all of your information and you will never be able to restore it.
- Skill level:
Other People Are Reading
Log into your Facebook account.
Click on "Account" and choose "Account Settings" from the drop-down menu. Scroll down and click "Deactivate." Click "Confirm." Your account is now deactivated.
Delete your account by visiting the "Delete Account" link (see Resources). Click "Submit" to request that Facebook permanently and irrevocably delete your Facebook account.
- 20 of the funniest online reviews ever
- 14 Biggest lies people tell in online dating sites
- Hilarious things Google thinks you're trying to search for