How to Close & Deactivate a Virgin Mobile Account

Written by heath robert
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Close & Deactivate a Virgin Mobile Account
You need to take several steps to deactivate a Virgin Mobile account. (Jupiterimages/Brand X Pictures/Getty Images)

Virgin Mobile is a prepaid and pay-as-you-go provider of cell phone service. Sir Richard Branson, owner of Virgin Atlantic Airways, formed the company. While Virgin Mobile, unlike most other national cell phone providers, does not require contracts, you must cancel the service to deactivate a Virgin Mobile phone. Deactivation is a relatively straightforward process; however, you need to take several steps to close the Virgin Mobile account.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

    Deactivate a Virgin Mobile Account By Porting a Number

  1. 1

    Decide that you want to keep your cell phone number but move your phone to another provider. This is called "porting" a number.

    How to Close & Deactivate a Virgin Mobile Account
    Moving an existing phone number is called "porting." (Jupiterimages/Goodshoot/Getty Images)
  2. 2

    Contact the new cell phone provider. All national carriers list toll-free numbers for activation on their websites.

  3. 3

    Give the new carrier details about your Virgin Mobile account, including the phone number, account number and your billing information.

  4. 4

    Contact Virgin Mobile at 1300-555-100 to confirm that your number has been ported to the new carrier. Porting a number automatically deactivates your Virgin Mobile account.

    Deactivate a Virgin Mobile Account Without Porting a Number

  1. 1

    Confirm that you do not want to keep your old phone number.

  2. 2

    Call Virgin Mobile customer support at 1300-555-100.

  3. 3

    Tell the customer service representative that you want to deactivate your account.

  4. 4

    Provide your account information, including phone number and billing address.

  5. 5

    Pay any outstanding bills from Virgin Mobile as the account will not close permanently until you have done so.

Tips and warnings

  • Once your old account is closed, wipe personal data from your cell phone.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.