What Foods Have Lupine in Them?

Written by gail sessoms
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
What Foods Have Lupine in Them?
Lupin is a high-protein legume. (lupin seed pod image by Alison Bowden from Fotolia.com)

Lupin is a high-protein grain legume that was probably first cultivated 2,000 years ago in the Mediterranean area, according to Purdue University's Alternative Field Crops manual. Lupin, also spelt "lupin," has more than 300 species, many of which are high in alkaloids, inedible and often toxic. Sweet lupin, first produced in the 1920s, is an alkaloid-free lupin that can be eaten by humans and livestock. Foods do not naturally contain lupin and lupin is not commonly used in the U.S.; however, lupin is used as an alternative food product in many countries.

Other People Are Reading

Pastas, Baked Goods and Cereals

Lupin may be used in pastas, breads and cereals.. Recipes may include lupin pasta and lupin flour or the lupin hull may be used for dietary fibre. For instance, in Chile Albus Lupin hulls are finely ground and toasted for use as a dietary fibre supplement. In European countries, lupin flour is sometimes used in baked goods or as a flavour enhancer for wheat flour.

Additives and Alternatives

Individuals with coeliac disease sometimes use lupin as an alternative to wheat products in gluten-free diets. Vegan diets may use lupin as a high-protein food choice. Lupin may be added to foods as a high-protein additive or as a replacement for fat content.

Mediterranean Foods

Mediterranean recipes use lupin as an alternative bean to chick peas and soya beans. Lupin is used in soups, hummus, and many other bean dishes. Countries such as Egypt have a long cultural history of consuming lupin bean dishes.


Lupin is a legume and may cause allergic reactions in people with peanut allergies. Baked goods in European countries may contain lupin flour mixed with wheat flour.

Lupin may cause severe allergic reactions in people with peanut allergies.
Lupin may cause severe allergic reactions in people with peanut allergies. (exclamation mark 3 image by chrisharvey from Fotolia.com)

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.