Facebook connects you with 500 million other users, but that doesn't mean you're necessarily interested in everyone's posts, status updates and gameplay activity. If you have Facebook friends whom you'd like to keep on your friends list, but whom you don't want to interact with on a daily basis, the Facebook Hide feature allows you to ignore them until you want to initiate contact again.
Other People Are Reading
The purpose of the Hide feature is to enhance your overall experience on Facebook. You can hide activity, friends, games and posts from your profile and news feed so they disappear from view. This is especially beneficial if you have a good friend whom you'd like to keep on your list, but who plays Facebook games that inundate your feed with posts. By hiding posts from that application alone, you can continue to interact with your friend without all of the commercial posts.
Hiding Posts and Friends
Facebook offers you a wide array of options when it comes to using the "Hide" button. You can hide friends altogether without deleting them from your list, but you can also hide posts from games and applications or a singular post on your wall. You can do this by hovering your cursor over the post in question until a small "x" appears. Click the "x" and select what you'd like to hide -- the friend, the post or the application. Once you select the option, the changes will be immediate, and the post, friend or application will disappear, as will future communication from a hidden friend or a hidden application.
Hiding Your Activity
At times, you may want to fly under the radar as far as your Facebook activity is concerned. One of the benefits of Facebook is that it tracks all of your connections and interactions, but if you'd rather keep them private, you can hide your activity from your wall, which will affect your friends' news feeds. By hovering your mouse over the recent activity on your profile, you can pick and choose which actions are visible to your friends and which are kept private.
Although hiding friends, posts and activity can help enhance your Facebook experience, it doesn't need to be permanent. Hiding is much easier to reverse than deleting a friend altogether, because for the latter you'd need to send a new friend request. Instead, you can unhide a friend or other item by scrolling to the bottom of your news feed and clicking "Edit Options." By click the "x" next to any item, you remove it from your hide list to begin viewing through your news feed again.
- 20 of the funniest online reviews ever
- 14 Biggest lies people tell in online dating sites
- Hilarious things Google thinks you're trying to search for