Why Am I Blocked From Something on Facebook?

Written by lara webster
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Why Am I Blocked From Something on Facebook?
A Facebook block is not permanent. (Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images)

Use Facebook in the spirit in which it is intended -- connecting with friends -- and you won't have any problems. If you post offensive material or disseminate unsolicited messages to people you don't know, however, you may find yourself blocked from using certain features. As a general rule, keep your messages and photos free of offensive language and sexual content, and don't repeat an offence once you've been warned by Facebook.

Other People Are Reading

People

Other Facebook users can block you at any time for any reason. Once you are blocked, you are unable to communicate with that person -- even through private messages. The user may have blocked you due to unsolicited communication from you in the past, offensive comments or because he doesn't like you. Facebook does not mandate that users supply a reason for blocking another user. You will have access to the Facebook user again only when he decides to unblock you.

Photos

If you are blocked from uploading photos on Facebook, it means that the site deemed one of your recently uploaded photos as inappropriate. Photos that exhibit nudity, drug use or a hateful nature violate the site's policies and will get you blocked from uploading more images. The block is temporary and Facebook will eventually lift it -- Facebook does not provide an exact timeline, except to say that your privilege will be restored at some point. The inappropriate photos will also be removed.

Messages

Facebook blocks you from sending messages if it is determined that you sent out a large number of messages in a short time -- an indicator of spamming other users. You must wait for Facebook to lift the block; removing older messages will not restore your ability to send out new ones. According to Facebook, repeatedly being blocked for sending messages warrants a permanent deletion of your account.

Considerations

When Facebook blocks you from a feature, the block can last anywhere from a few hours to more than one day. If you continue to attempt to use the feature, the block may be extended. The site considers the quantity and frequency at which you exhibited abusive behaviour when determining how long your block will last.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.