How to Hide Netflix Viewing Habits

Written by david weinberg | 13/05/2017
How to Hide Netflix Viewing Habits
(Comstock Images/Comstock/Getty Images)

The combination of Netflix and social networking can lead to some undesired disclosures of your Netflix viewing habits. Although Netflix does not allow you to delete your viewing history, it does allow you to create a private account that hides your preferences and history. You can even create this account as a secondary account so that your primary account remains viewable by your friends and family while your secondary account contains the movies that you'd like to keep private.

Log into your Netflix account and access the account page using the "Your Account" link in the upper right corner of the screen.

Select "Add Profile" and enter a name for your new hidden profile.

Click "Edit" next to the profile name. Check the box for "Private" on the profile page to set this account to private.

Sign into your new profile account by clicking the arrow next to your name in the top right corner of the page. This account will remain private with a hidden viewing history, while your primary Netflix account maintains its social features.

Tips

  • You can create up to four alternate profiles, each with its own queue of 500 movies.

Tips and Warnings

  • You can create up to four alternate profiles, each with its own queue of 500 movies.

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.