How to Reset the Cisco Catalyst 2950 Switch

Written by dave wilson
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Reset the Cisco Catalyst 2950 Switch
Reset a Cisco Catalyst 2950 switch to factory default settings. (48 Port Switch image by Phil2048 from Fotolia.com)

The Cisco Catalyst 2950 is a versatile edge switch that is also commonly used in small- or remote-office settings. When the switch is moved to a new location, or the switch needs a major reconfiguration, it is usually best to reset the switch to factory defaults and start with a new configuration if the current configuration is complex and site specific. Resetting a Cisco 2950 switch can be completed in a few steps.

Skill level:
Moderate

Other People Are Reading

Things you need

  • Windows XP computer with ninepin serial port
  • Privileged exec password for the Cisco Catalyst 2950
  • Cisco Catalyst serial console cable

Show MoreHide

Instructions

  1. 1

    Plug the Cisco serial console cable into the Cisco Catalyst 2950 serial console port.

  2. 2

    Plug the other end of the serial console cable into the ninepin serial port on the Windows XP computer.

  3. 3

    Click the "Start" button on the Windows XP computer; click the "Run" box.

  4. 4

    Enter "hypertrm" in the "Run" box and tap the "Enter" key.

  5. 5

    Type "Cisco 2950" in the "HyperTerminal" window "Name:" field and tap the "Enter" key.

  6. 6

    Click the "Connect using:" drop-down box. Select the "Com port" listed in the drop-down box that connects the Windows XP computer to the Cisco 2950. Tap the "Enter" key.

  7. 7

    Select the "Bits per second:" drop-down box. Select the "9600" setting in the menu that appears.

  8. 8

    Click the "Flow Control" drop-down box. Select "None" and tap the "Enter" key.

  9. 9

    Tap the "Enter" key until the Cisco command prompt appears.

  10. 10

    Type "enable" and press the "Enter" key. Enter the Privileged Exec password when requested on the command prompt and tap the "Enter" key.

  11. 11

    Type "Write Erase" and tap the "Enter" key. When the "Erasing the nvram filesystem will remove all files! Continue?" message appears, press the "Y" key and then type "Reload" and press the "Enter" key.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.