How to Delete the History From the Google Address Bar

Written by patrick hutchison
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Delete the History From the Google Address Bar
Internet browsers save information from every website you type into Google's address bar. (adress bar image by Wiktor Osiecki from Fotolia.com)

As of 2010, Google has become the most popular search engine on the planet. Millions of people use their tool bars and address bars every day. When typing Web addresses into Google's address bar, your browser saves the address to make it easier to find later. This feature is a convenience for most, but it can cause problems. Address bar history can share private information from your Web session with other people. To avoid this possibility it is vital to know how to delete the history from the Google address bar from the 2010 versions of the most popular browsers.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Click on the "Tools" menu at the top of the screen. It should be just above the address bar.

  2. 2

    Go to "Delete Browsing History" and click on it.

  3. 3

    Check both the "History" and "Form Data" boxes in order to clear all history from the address bar.

  4. 4

    Click "Delete" to remove all address bar history.

  1. 1

    Select the "Tools" menu at the top of the screen, above the address bar.

  2. 2

    Click on "Clear Recent History" in the "Tools" menu.

  3. 3

    Choose how much of your history you would like to clear by selecting the drop down menu "Time range to clear."

  4. 4

    Select the drop down menu "Details" and check the "Browsing & Download History" and "Form & Search History" boxes.

  5. 5

    Click "Clear Now" at the bottom of the window to clear all address bar history for the time period you specified.

  1. 1

    Select the "Tools" menu at the top of the screen. It will be represented by a small picture of a wrench.

  2. 2

    Select the "Under the Hood" tab.

  3. 3

    Go to "Clear browsing data" and check the "Clear browsing history" box.

  4. 4

    Select how much of your history you wish to delete by clicking on the "Clear data from this period" menu.

  5. 5

    Click "Clear browsing data" to delete history from the entire time period you specified.

Tips and warnings

  • Only Google and Firefox allow you to delete specific time ranges of data. If you only need to delete part of your history, consider using these browsers.
  • These instructions are for specific versions of the listed browsers. Be careful when changing any settings on your computer as it may result in software problems. Make sure you are ready to delete your address bar history before doing so. Once it is deleted, it cannot be retrieved.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.