How Do Roman Catholics Use Rosary Beads?

Written by victor cina
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How Do Roman Catholics Use Rosary Beads?

Rosary Beads: What are They?

Rosary beads are a Roman Catholic devotion. The rosary is a term for the charm that is used along with the cycle of prayers that are repeated while holding the beads. The prayers said while using the rosary are the Lord's Prayer, Hail Mary, Glory Be to the Father and the Apostles' Creed. These are recited in a certain sequence along with meditations on the mysteries.

Rosary Beads: How to Use Them

Rosary beads are broken down into groups of 10 little beads or decades. Each decade has a large bead before each set of 10 little beads. A five-decade rosary has five groups of 10 decades. A shorter strand connects a crucifix to one large bead, followed by three small beads, then a large bead.

Here are the sequence of prayers: Starting with the crucifix recite the Apostles' Creed, then move on to the first large bead and recite the Lord's Prayer. The next three smaller beads, the Hail Mary prayer is repeated. The prayer Glory Be to the Father is recited on the next larger bead. Once this is said, the cycle of 10 Hail Mary's begins with the Lord's Prayer being repeated on each large bead. Once the Lord's Prayer is recited on each of the large beads, a mystery is also meditated on before moving on to the next decade.

Rosary Beads: The Mysteries

Upon completing the Lord's Prayer after each decade, a set of mysteries are contemplated. These mysteries derive from Jesus' life and death and the Holy Mother Mary. The mysteries are said in sequence once per day and they are: Joyful Mysteries, Sorrowful Mysteries and Glorious Mysteries. Each mystery has five themes that are reflected upon. One for each decade. These are: Joyful Mysteries 1. The Annunciation 2. The Visitation 3. The Nativity 4. The Presentation of Jesus at the Temple 5. The Finding of the Child Jesus at the Temple Sorrowful Mysteries 1. The Agony in the Garden 2. The Scourging at Pillar 3. The Crowning with Thorns 4. The Carrying of the Cross 5. The Crucifixion Glorious Mysteries 1. The Resurrection 2. The Ascension 3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit 4. The Assumption of Mary 5. The Crowning of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.