Powdered milk contains lactose, or milk sugar. For people with lactose intolerance, there are some lactose-free fresh milk products and lactose-free, non-dairy powdered milk products.
Lactose is a sugar found in milk. Bacteria feed on lactose and produce lactic acid, which turns milk sour.
Lactose intolerance is the inability to digest lactose. The ability to digest lactose as an adult is actually the result of a genetic mutation generally found in people of European ancestry.
Dry, powdered milk has the same amount of lactose as fresh milk.
Lactose-free milk and non-dairy substitutes such as soy, rice, almond and hemp milk can be used as substitutes for people with lactose intolerance.
Depending on the application, lactose-free substitutes for powdered milk include non-dairy coffee creamer, powdered soy milk and powdered rice milk.
- 20 of the funniest online reviews ever
- 14 Biggest lies people tell in online dating sites
- Hilarious things Google thinks you're trying to search for