Nursing specialty training

Written by rachel delp
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Nursing specialty training
Nursing speciality training provides nurses many career options. (Lovely Doctor image by Paul Moore from

Nurses looking for career-development training have no shortage of options, as scores of speciality certificate and nurse practitioner training programs and nursing administration degrees are offered by colleges, online universities and accredited continuing education programs. Examples of concentrated study areas include oncology, hospice and palliative care, paediatrics, gerontology and HIV/AIDS care. Other nurses may choose speciality training to become nurse practitioners or nursing administrators. Certification examinations are often a required element of nursing speciality training.

Training Providers

Conventional universities, such as the University of California San Francisco, offer speciality training for nurses, as do accredited, online-focused schools, like the University of Phoenix and Kaplan University. Health-care centres also may provide speciality training programs, like those provided for registered nurses (RNs) by the California Pacific Medical Center. Other universities, such as Johns Hopkins, offer extensive continuing education programs, symposia and case study presentations, which help advance a nurse's speciality training.

Certificate Programs

Speciality training certificate programs provide staff nurses excellent opportunities to develop their practical skills. As health care becomes more specialised, it makes sense that nursing training does as well. Nurses today can choose from varied clinical speciality programs, such as operating room care, forensic nursing, emergency care, labour and delivery, neonatal intensive care, acute rehabilitation and critical care.

Nurse Practitioner Training

Nurses may also elect to speciality train as nurse practitioners. Prerequisites for nurse practitioner programs typically include a current RN license, a bachelor's degree and at least one year of nursing practice. Columbia University School of Nursing offers seven master's programs for aspiring nurse practitioners in the following specialities: acute care, adult care, family care, neonatal care, paediatrics, psychiatric care and women's health.

Administration Programs

Nurses who seek careers in health care administration can choose from several speciality training programs, such as master's degrees in business administration, health care administration, informatics or public health. This advanced training prepares nurses to work as directors of nursing, chief nursing officers, nursing IT specialists and as nursing liaisons between government agencies and community health organisations.

Certification Exams

The American Nurses Credentialing Center oversees certification exams for more than 40 speciality and advanced nursing practice programs annually. Prerequisite qualifications for taking the speciality training exams vary, so it is important that you confirm these details match your particular study program. Some speciality training programs only require a current RN license, whereas others may require a bachelor's or master's of science degree in nursing, along with a set number of practice hours.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.