We Value Your Privacy

We and our partners use technology such as cookies on our site to personalise content and ads, provide social media features, and analyse our traffic. Click below to consent to the use of this technology across the web. You can change your mind and change your consent choices at anytime by returning to this site.

Update Consent
Loading ...

What are the trophy names for major sports?

Updated July 20, 2017

Professional sports are all about winning. Athletes play for the thrill of athletic competition, and the highest athletic competition occurs in the championship rounds of a sport. There is no higher honour for a professional athlete than winning a title. The entire franchise benefits when a team wins a championship. In all major sports, championship trophies have names and traditions.

Loading ...

Commissioner's Trophy

The winner of Major League Baseball's World Series is awarded the Commissioner's Trophy, which is named such because it is awarded to the owner of the winning team by the commissioner of the league. The trophy was first awarded in 1967 and weighs 13.6 Kilogram. A new trophy is made every year.

Vince Lombardi Trophy

The Vince Lombardi Trophy is awarded to the winning team of the National Football League's Super Bowl. The trophy is named after former Green Bay Packers' coach Vince Lombardi, who won the first two Super Bowls in 1967 and 1968. The trophy was renamed for Lombardi after his death in 1970. Prior to that, it was called the World Championship Game Trophy.

Stanley Cup

The Stanley Cup is awarded to the champion of the National Hockey League's Stanley Cup Finals. It is the oldest championship trophy in North America. The Stanley Cup was initially bought by Lord Stanley of Preston to be presented to the amateur hockey champion of Canada. It was first presented in 1893. The National Hockey Association purchased the trophy in 1910, but with the subsequent folding of various leagues, only NHL teams have competed for it since 1926. The NHL reached a formal agreement with Cup trustees in 1947 and his had exclusive control of it ever since.

Larry O'Brien Champiobnship Trophy

The Larry O'Brien Championship Trophy is awarded to the winning team of the National Basketball Association's Finals. The trophy was created in 1978 and was renamed after former NBA commissioner Larry O'Brien in 1984. The trophy is made by Tiffany's and is remade every year.

Other Major Sports Trophies

The FIFA World Cup Trophy is awarded to the winning national soccer team of the FIFA World Cup tournament. The Claret Jug is awarded to the British Open champion in golf. The Borg-Warner Trophy is given to the champion of the Indianapolis 500. College sports in the USA win National Championship trophies.

Loading ...

About the Author

Pat Pickens is an award-winning sports journalist with a flair for finding interesting stories. As an avid sports fan, Pickens often looks to find an alternative view point from the status quo, and has experience in covering PGA, NHL, NCAA football as well as high school sports up and down the Northeast.

Loading ...