List of approved impairments from social security disability

Written by mike andrews | 13/05/2017
List of approved impairments from social security disability
People who cannot work may qualify for disability benefits. (handicap image by laurent gehant from

Social security provides benefits for people that cannot work for at least 12 months due a disability or serious medical condition. Social security has a list of approved impairments for which someone might qualify for disability benefits. Having one of these conditions does not automatically qualify someone for disability, however; his doctor must certify that due to his condition he cannot work for at least 12 months. If you cannot work due to one of these conditions, contact your local Social Security Administration office to apply for benefits.

Musculoskeletal System

Approved impairments for social security disability include a variety of musculoskeletal problems, including amputation, disorders of the spine that prevent normal gross and fine motor movements, and severe joint problems.

Respiratory System

Approved impairments include a number of respiratory disorders, including severe asthma, chronic pulmonary insufficiency and cystic fibrosis. This list also includes lung transplants.

Cardiovascular System

Approved impairments include a number of cardiovascular disorders, including chronic heart failure, ischemic heart disease, recurrent arrhythmias, congenital heart disease and aneurysm. The list also includes heart transplants.

Digestive System

Approved impairments include a number of digestive system disorders, including liver disease, irritable bowel syndrome and gastrointestinal haemorrhage that requires a blood transfusion. The list also includes liver transplants.

Endocrine System

Approved impairments include a number of endocrine system disorders, including diabetes mellitus, thyroid disorder and hyper- and hypo-parathyroidism.

Neurological Problems

Approved impairments include a number of neurological disorders, including Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, severe epilepsy, cerebral palsy, muscular dystrophy and spinal cord injury.

Mental Problems

Approved impairments include a number of mental problems, including depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, personality disorders and anxiety disorders. The list also includes autistic spectrum disorders. Substance abuse-related disorders are included only if the substance abuse has caused another psychiatric disorder on the approved list of disorders such as depression or a personality disorder, or if it has caused a physical disorder, such as liver damage or a seizure disorder.

Other Disorders

The list of approved impairments includes a number of other disorders, such as sensory and speech disorders, hematological disorders, immune system disorders and disorders that affect multiple body systems, like Down's syndrome. People with disorders not on the list of approved impairments may still qualify for social security disability benefits as long as their disorders are as disabling as one of the disorders on the approved list.

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.