List of Monocot Flowers

Written by bryan cohen
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
List of Monocot Flowers
An orchid flower. (orchid image by pncphotos from

The world of flowering plants, known as angiosperms, is divided sharply down the middle into classes called monocots and dicots. Monocot flowers typically produce lobes, sepals and other flower parts in multiples of three. The veins are usually aligned parallel with one another; when a monocot's seed sprouts it looks like a blade of grass sticking out from the soil. There are around 65,000 monocot species known throughout the world.

False Garlic

This perennial, bulbous plant has bright white flowers that bloom in early spring. The plant is an invasive species from southern Europe, the Middle East and north Africa and it is typically found in the southern United States. False garlic has six petal-like segments and six stamens.


There are many different varieties of lily flowers, including the Tiger Lily (Lilium tigrinum). Each lily flower fits the pattern of monocots, as it has six petals, six staments and a three-lobed stigma. Lilies range in colour--including oranges, yellows, reds, whites and purples. Lilies are in the same family of flowers as false garlic.


Orchids are monocots with three petals and three petal-like sepals. These flowers grow from the Arctic to the equator; there may be over 20,000 species of orchid. This makes them the largest family of plants. There are too many different potential orchid colours to mention--including white, purple and yellow. It is believed that the destruction of the rainforest may exterminate some orchid species we have yet to be introduced to.


The word Iris means rainbow, which refers to the many different colours irises come in, including red, brown, pink, orange, purple, blue and black. Irises can grow in many different areas, including swamps, deserts, and in the cold far north. An iris is a monocot flower; they are often given as gifts symbolising different messages for each different colour.


The Amaryllis flower is a monocot with six brightly coloured sepals that is well-known by its dark red colour. This perennial can be found throughout the world--especially in the flatlands of subtropics and tropics. These flowers require drained soil and a steady stream of light to grow properly.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.