Do Uploaded Profile Pictures Go Into Your News Feed on Facebook?

Written by lara webster
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Do Uploaded Profile Pictures Go Into Your News Feed on Facebook?
Everyone on Facebook is able to see your profile picture. (Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images)

Your Facebook profile picture is the first impression left with visitors to your profile. Keep the image up-to-date and use it to show friends what you're up to. Uploading a new profile picture takes just a few seconds, and friends are notified via their news feeds that the change has happened.

Other People Are Reading

Profile Pictures

Your profile picture is the image that appears in the upper left corner of your Facebook profile. It also shows up just to the left of any post or comment you leave on the site, both on your own profile and the profiles of others. While you can only have one profile at once, Facebook allows you to change your profile picture as often as you like. The current and previous profile pictures used on your account comprise your profile picture album.

Uploading New Pictures

The image used as your profile picture must belong to you and be saved to your computer's hard drive. When you want to upload a new profile picture, point your browser to your Facebook profile and hover your mouse over the current picture. Click the "Change Picture" link that appears at the top of the image. Click the "Browse" button and locate the image you want to add using the pop-up window that shows your hard drive folders. Click once on a photo to select it and then click "OK."

News Feed Stories

A story is generated and posted to your wall whenever you make certain changes to your profile, including adding a new profile picture. The story may also show up on the home page news feed of your Facebook friends. The story says "[Your Name] changed her profile picture" and also shows a thumbnail of the new profile image. Clicking the story directs friends to your profile.

Deleting Stories

While Facebook does not allow you to stop a new story from being created, it is possible to delete one. After you change your profile picture, go to your own wall. Hover your mouse over the story showing you changed your profile picture and click the "x" in the corner. In the pop-up window, click "Remove Post" and the story will not longer appear on your wall. Once it is erased from your own wall, a news story will no longer be created in friends' news feeds, though friends who happen to be online right when the story posts may see it before it is erased.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.