How to delete a vlan interface in juniper

Written by jacob andrew
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to delete a vlan interface in juniper
VLANs help group devices based on their function, rather than their location. (Hemera Technologies/AbleStock.com/Getty Images)

Juniper Networks manufactures a variety of data network products, including switches, routers and security appliances. Using the open standard from the Institute for Electronics and Electrical Engineers (IEEE), Juniper devices offer network administrators the option to implement multiple Virtual Local Area Networks (VLANs). Configuring and updating a Juniper switch or router typically takes place through the command line interface (CLI), accessed via a telnet session, or through a console cable directly connecting your computer to the switch.

Skill level:
Moderate

Other People Are Reading

Things you need

  • Console cable
  • Juniper switch

Show MoreHide

Instructions

    Deleting a VLAN in CLI mode

  1. 1

    Connect to the Juniper switch via console cable or, if configured, a telnet session.

  2. 2

    Type "configure" and press "Enter" to begin configuration mode.

  3. 3

    Type the command "delete vlan-id [vlan number]" (replace "[Vlan number]" with the VLAN number you wish to delete, ranging from one to 4096), then press "Enter."

  4. 4

    Type "commit," and press "Enter" to commit the configuration changes permanently.

    Deleting a VLAN in Web Interface Mode

  1. 1

    Connect to the Juniper web interface by typing "http://[switch IP address]" (replace "[switch IP address]" with the administrative address assigned specifically for configuring the switch).

  2. 2

    Log in with root or other configured administrative credentials.

  3. 3

    Click "Configure."

  4. 4

    Click "switching," then click "VLAN"

  5. 5

    Click "deleted" next to the VLAN you wish to remove.

Tips and warnings

  • Deleting a VLAN automatically removes the configuration of any switch port configured for access to that VLAN. Check to ensure you have accounted for all users and ports before deleting the VLAN.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.