How to Reset a NETGEAR to Factory Conditions

Written by mike benson
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

The NETGEAR Smart Wizard is the main interface used to configure the settings on your router. While most NETGEAR routers have the ability to save your own backup files, the routers also maintain a record of the default factory settings. If your router is having connectivity problems, it is best to try using one of your backup files first. If you did not make a backup, or if the backup did not solve the problem, you can reset your NETGEAR router to the factory settings from within the router manager, or by pressing the reset button.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

    Router Manager

  1. 1

    Open your Web browser. Type "www.routerlogin.net" in the address bar, then press Enter. This displays an Authentication Required dialogue.

  2. 2

    Type "admin" in the "User Name" field, then type "password" into the "Password" field. Click "OK" to login.

  3. 3

    Click the "Backup Settings" link under the "Maintenance" section. This loads backup-related settings to the centre of the page.

  4. 4

    Click the "Erase" button under the "Revert to Factory Default Settings" section. This erases all changes that have been made to the router, and restores the configuration settings to what they were when it left the factory. While this process is occurring, you should not do anything else on your computer to avoid interrupting the process. Once the router's "test" light has stopped blinking and the configuration page you are on has refreshed, the router has been reset.

    Reset Button

  1. 1

    Press the "Power" button to power off your NETGEAR router. This button is generally located on the front of a NETGEAR router and often found below the lights.

  2. 2

    Locate the "Reset" button on the back of your NETGEAR router. This will be near the top with a red outline around the button. You should see the words "Restore Factory Settings" or "Reset," depending on the model you have.

  3. 3

    Use a small point pen or similar object to press the "Reset" button in, and hold until the lights on the front of the unit blink twice. The lights will start blinking within five to 10 seconds of holding the button.

  4. 4

    Release the "Reset" button. The original settings have been restored.

Don't Miss

References

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.