How to Delete Ntuser Data

Written by mike benson
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Delete Ntuser Data
Remove the Ntuser data file from your drive when it is no longer needed. (Creative Crop/Digital Vision/Getty Images)

Responsible for storing Windows user account settings and preferences, the Ntuser file is a system file that must be present for the user account to function. Depending on several factors, the Ntuser file can take a noticeable amount of drive space. If you are removing a user account you no longer need on your computer, this file can safely be deleted. You will need to be signed in on a different account with administrative privileges to remove this file.

Skill level:
Moderate

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Click "Start" then click "Computer." Double-click the "Local Disk C" icon.

  2. 2

    Click "Tools" then "Folder" options. This opens a small dialogue window. Click the "View" tab. Click to remove the check mark next to "Hide protected operating system files" then click the "Apply" button and close the dialogue window.

  3. 3

    Double-click the "Users" folder. This folder contains subfolders named according to the account name. Double-click the account folder. Right-click "NTUSER.DAT" and click "Delete." Click the "Yes" button on the confirmation dialogue. You can also delete the "NTUSER.DAT.LOG" files.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.