How to Disable an Upload in uTorrent

Written by garrett genet | 13/05/2017
How to Disable an Upload in uTorrent
(Michael Blann/Lifesize/Getty Images)

Uploading data (as opposed to downloading) takes up much more bandwidth in comparison, so you need to keep programs like uTorrent from uploading too quickly. Left unchecked, uTorrent can use all of your bandwidth, rendering your connection unusable for any other purpose. By disabling its ability to upload you'll keep a fair amount of bandwidth open. However, peer-to-peer networks rely on their users to share the data they download; excessively downloading without uploading is a quick way to get blacklisted.

Start uTorrent.

Click the "Options" menu and select "Preferences."

Select "Bandwidth" and find "Number of upload slots per torrent." Change the amount to 0.

Click "Apply" and then "OK" to save your settings.

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.