How to recover deleted internet browsing history

Written by waynec
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to recover deleted internet browsing history
(Siri Stafford/Digital Vision/Getty Images)

Internet Explorer in Windows 7 contains a variety of options to help with Internet browsing. One of the options is Internet history, which keeps a record of the websites the computer visits. This option allows a user to easily access websites previously visited, even if the user can't remember the web addresses. Unfortunately, the Internet History can be easily deleted, potentially erasing several weeks' worth of saved websites. The process to recover the deleted history is more difficult than deleting the history is, requiring the user to restore the computer to the state it was in before the history was deleted.

Skill level:
Moderate

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Click on the "Start" button on the lower left side of the screen, and highlight "All Programs" when the "Start" menu appears.

  2. 2

    When the "All Programs" menu appears, highlight "Accessories," then select "System Tools."

  3. 3

    From the "System Tools" menu, select "System Restore."

  4. 4

    If you have not performed a system restore on the computer before, when the "System Restore" window appears, click "Next." If you have performed a system restore before, select the "Choose a different restore point" option, then select your desired restore point from the points listed. The "Show other restore points" option will show restore points older than those initially listed.

  5. 5

    Choose the restore point you want, then click "Finish." A warning window will appear, warning that system restore cannot be interrupted once it is started. Click "Yes," and the system will reboot and restore itself to the restore point selected.

Tips and warnings

  • You can restore your system to the state it was in before the restoration. Access "System Restore," select "Undo my last restoration," then click "Next." The computer will reboot, and the system will be restored to its former state.
  • Save your work before performing the restoration, or it will be lost during the process.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.