How to Delete a Microsoft Windows Network Work Group

Written by jason artman
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Delete a Microsoft Windows Network Work Group
Workgroups allow Windows-based computers to network directly with one another. (network image by Allyson Ricketts from Fotolia.com)

In Windows networking, a workgroup is used for a "peer-to-peer" network--a network in which the computers on the network communicate directly with one another, rather than through a server. If you have ever noticed a person accessing the shared folders on your computer while you were connected to a public wireless access point, it was because both computers were using the same workgroup name. Delete a workgroup from your computer to prevent others from accessing shared resources on the computer or attempting to browse to your computer on the network.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Press the Windows logo and "R" keys simultaneously to display the "Run" dialog box. Type "sysdm.cpl" without quotation marks into the box and press "Enter."

  2. 2

    Click the "Computer Name" tab if it isn't on top already, then click the "Change" button.

  3. 3

    Delete the existing name from the box labeled "Workgroup" and enter a nondescript name that others are not likely to use. The workgroup name can be as simple as "1." Do not use the name "Workgroup" if you do not want others to browse your computer on public networks, as "Workgroup" is the default name used by some versions of Windows. Note that it is not possible to leave the "Workgroup" box empty.

  4. 4

    Click "OK" in each open window, then restart the computer when prompted.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.