How to Delete My Skype Name

Written by kefa olang
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

Skype is a popular messaging application whose popularity comes from the ability to make voice calls to users all over the world, as well as the ability to chat using instant texts and video chat. When you sign up for a Skype account, you set up a display name which other users use to find and contact you. You cannot permanently delete a Skype name. However, you can delete your Skype name from the sign in screen.

Skill level:

Other People Are Reading


  1. 1

    Double-click "My Computer" on the desktop. Click the "Tools" menu and then click "Folder Options." Click the "View" tab and then click the "Show hidden files and folders" radio button. Click "OK" to save the changes. This feature will allow you to view the Skype folders.

  2. 2

    Double-click the "C:" drive and then double-click the "Documents and Settings" folder. Double-click your username folder and then double-click the "Application Data" folder. Double-click the "Skype" folder.

  3. 3

    Locate your Skype username folder and right-click it. Click "Delete."

Tips and warnings

  • Skype automatically deletes your Skype profile from its user directory if you go more than 10 days without signing into your account.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.