Explanation of a RIBA Plan of Work

Written by jennifer vanbaren | 13/05/2017

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) developed a plan of work used by architects in the United Kingdom. This plan consists of 10 main stages of work beginning from appraising through post construction.


The RIBA plan of work offers a cycle of work stages for contractors to follow. These stages offer guidance when projects are being constructed regarding the order of processes, ensuring nothing is missed. After each stage, an assessment should be done affirming the stage is complete and the next stage can begin.


The stages under the RIBA plan of work are labelled from stage A through L. These stages explain in detail the order processes are completed and an explanation of each stage.


The 10 stages are: appraisal, developed brief, concept, design, technical design preparation, preparation of detailed construction information, tender documentation, mobilisation, construction and post practical completion.

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.