Diagram of the human body

Written by colleen moore
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

The human body is composed of a number of systems that work together. These systems control various functions of the body including breathing, the senses, protection, support, circulation and homeostasis. The human body is composed of 11 systems. These include the Integumentary, Skeletal, Muscular, Nervous, Endocrine, Cardiovascular, Lymphatic, Respiratory, Digestive, Urinary, and Reproductive Systems.

The Skeletal System

This system includes your bones. In adults there are 206 bones that provide support for your organs and other body systems.

The Muscular System

This system consists of all the muscles in your body. This system works with the skeletal system to provide movement and support.

The Nervous System

The nervous system controls your senses. Through complex processing your nervous system can detect and respond to stimuli instantly.

The Respiratory System

This system consists of an upper and lower system and connects to the lungs. It is the job of this system to provide the body with oxygen as well rid the body of toxic carbon dioxide.

The Digestive System

Beginning at the mouth, the digestive system processes all food through the body.

The Urinary System

The responsibility of this system is to eliminate waste from the body.


These are 6 of the most recognisable of the 11 systems of the human body. A malfunction in any one of these systems will cause disease. It is important to understand how these systems function alone and work together. By understanding these processes you can also learn how to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.