We Value Your Privacy

We and our partners use technology such as cookies on our site to personalise content and ads, provide social media features, and analyse our traffic. Click below to consent to the use of this technology across the web. You can change your mind and change your consent choices at anytime by returning to this site.

Update Consent
Loading ...

How to Calculate a UMS

Updated February 21, 2017

The UMS, or Uniform Mark Scale, is a grading system used primarily by British educational examiners. Examiners must take the raw marks on an exam and translate those marks to a UMS. According to the British newspaper The Independent, with the UMS, exams are graded as follows: above 80% is an A grade, 70% to 80% is a B, 60% to 70% is a C, and 50% to 60% is a D. The Oxford, Cambridge, and RSA examinations companies provides guidelines on how to calculate the UMS.

Loading ...
  1. Find out which grade you scored on the exam: A, B, C, D or F. Example: you score a 72 on an Advanced GCE Art exam in 2009 and obtain a grade of C in unit F410.

  2. Look at the UMS/raw score table for your type exam and determine how many raw marks there are in that grade. According to The Oxford, Cambridge, and RSA examinations company, there were 10 raw marks in grade C for 2009.

  3. Determine how many marks are in the same type of uniform mark grade. The Oxford, Cambridge, and RSA examinations company list 12 UMS marks in that grade.

  4. Divide Step 3 by Step 2. 12/10= 1.2. Set this number aside for a moment.

  5. Figure out how many raw marks you have scored over the raw mark boundary. The boundary, according to the chart, is 66. 72-66=6.

  6. Multiply Step 4 by Step 5. 1.2 * 6 = 7.2

  7. Add Step 6 to the grade's uniform mark boundary. The boundary is listed in the chart as 72. 72 + 7.2 = 79.2. Your UMS mark is 79.2 (C grade).

Loading ...

Things You'll Need

  • Raw marks/grade table for your subject and test (See Resources for an example)

About the Author

Stephanie Ellen teaches mathematics and statistics at the university and college level. She coauthored a statistics textbook published by Houghton-Mifflin. She has been writing professionally since 2008. Ellen holds a Bachelor of Science in health science from State University New York, a master's degree in math education from Jacksonville University and a Master of Arts in creative writing from National University.

Loading ...