DISCOVER
×

Video transcription

How to recover your Facebook account. A Facebook account is never deleted completely. Mainly as your information is very useful to Facebook in terms of advertising. If you decide to cancel your account, we recommend that you save all your data. To do this go to the arrow in the upper right hand corner. Look for the "account settings" option and click. Now find the "download a copy of your Facebook data" option. This gives you the option of backing up all of your posts, photos, videos etc... To deactivate your account go back one page and look for the "security" option. Click and you will see the "deactivate your account" option. Bear in mind that you are not permanently deleting your account. You are simply deactivating it. By doing this you will not be able to use Facebook to communicate with people and they will not be able to use the website to contact you. To recover your account, you simply have to log back into your account and Facebook will welcome you back. You can always go back to being part of the Facebook community.