Trees That Lose Their Leaves in the Winter

Written by naomi vogel | 13/05/2017
Trees That Lose Their Leaves in the Winter
Deciduous trees lose their leaves in fall and winter. (Bare Tree image by Mich from

There are two types of trees: evergreen and deciduous. Evergreen trees retain their foliage all year long. Deciduous trees lose their leaves in the fall and winter. There are many varieties of trees in the United States that are classified as deciduous trees. They include shade trees, ornamental trees and other common types of trees.

Oak Trees

Trees That Lose Their Leaves in the Winter
Oak trees are classified as deciduous trees (oak tree image by Zlatko Ivancok from

Even though there are some oak trees that do not lose their leaves in winter, such as the evergreen myrtle oaks and live oaks, according to, the majority of the oak tree species shed their leaves by winter. These include: white oaks, bur oaks, overcup oaks, Gambel oaks, chestnut oaks, black oaks, scarlet oaks, red oaks, willow oaks and blue oaks.

Maple Trees

Trees That Lose Their Leaves in the Winter
Autumn leaves on a maple tree (Red Maple tree image by Mr. D from

Maple trees offer bright red, orange and yellow leaves every autumn. North Dakota State University states that maple trees have a specific trait that classifies them as deciduous trees: their simple leaves are located opposite each other on the twig. According to, there are 13 different types of maples in North America and most are deciduous; they include Boxelders, bigleaf maple, mountain maple, silver maple, sugar maple, Norway maple, black maple and striped maple.

Fruit Trees

Trees That Lose Their Leaves in the Winter
Apple trees are among many fruit-bearing deciduous trees (apple on the tree image by Igor Zhorov from

Many fruit-bearing trees are deciduous. Among them are the apple tree, American plum tree, Allegheny plum tree, black cherry tree, sweet crabapple, frosted hawthorn, and persimmon tree. These trees are all native to the United States.

Cottonwood Trees

Trees That Lose Their Leaves in the Winter
A circle of cottonwood trees (baumkreis image by Rainer Schmittchen from

Leaves of the cottonwood tree have a glossy texture, and turn brown in the autumn before falling off in winter. These trees grow quickly and spread cotton-like seeds in the springtime. They like moist soils.

Nut Trees

Trees That Lose Their Leaves in the Winter
A single walnut on a walnut tree. (éclosion d"une noix image by nordmann from

Like fruit-bearing trees, nut trees are also deciduous. According to, many of the nut trees, such as the hickories and walnuts, have compound leaves with a large number of narrow leaflets attached to a central stem. Deciduous nut trees include: hazelnut, butternut, pecan, pignut hickory, shagbark hickory, bitternut hickory, and walnut.


Trees That Lose Their Leaves in the Winter
Willow tree over a river (willow-tree about river image by Maria Brzostowska from

According to, the weeping willow tree is one of the most easily recognisable deciduous trees due to its gently "weeping" branches and foliage. This tree which is often found near bodies of water has been an inspiration to artists and poets such as the painter, Claude Monet.

Birch Trees

Trees That Lose Their Leaves in the Winter
There are many different kinds of birch trees (birch tree in spring image by Calin Tatu from

There are several different types of birch trees: crimson frost birch, silver birch, heritage river birch, whitebarked Himalayan birch, paper birch, red birch, yellow birch and weeping birch. According to, they all share the following characteristics: they grow to between 40 to 50 feet and the leaves turn yellow in the fall.

Poplar Trees

Trees That Lose Their Leaves in the Winter
A beautiful pathway surrounded by poplar trees (poplar trees image by david hughes from

All poplar trees are deciduous, and there are several different types: white, grey, Aspen, black, and Lombardy. According to, poplar trees are often used for firewood. Unfortunately caring for a poplar tree may be difficult since they are prone to many diseases and pests.

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.