Entry Requirements for the Royal Marines

Updated August 18, 2017

The Royal Marines are the amphibious light-infantry force of Britain's Royal Navy, a "small but powerful corps" capable of operating on land, at sea and in the air, according to the service. Getting into the service requires first being accepted by the Royal Navy. Entry requirements for officers are stricter than those for enlisted troops, who are referred to as commandos.

Gender and Citizenship

To become a Royal Marines commando, you must be male and a citizen of Britain, Ireland or a member of the Commonwealth of Nations (formerly the British Commonwealth). To be an officer, you must be a male British citizen and must have lived in the United Kingdom for 5 years.

Royal Navy Acceptance

Royal Marines applicants must first pass the five-step Royal Navy selection process. The first step is a simple written application. The second step is an aptitude test, which covers English, math, reasoning skills and "mechanical comprehension." Next is a personal interview. Then comes a medical exam and physical fitness assessment. The final step is a background check.

Assessment Courses

To be accepted into the Royal Marines, you mast pass the Potential Royal Marines Course, or PRMC, a gruelling, three-day fitness assessment designed to test physical and mental strength, endurance and determination. Officer candidates must pass the Potential Officers Course, which combines the physical assessments of the PRMC with added tests for intelligence and leadership ability.

Basic Training

Once accepted, a recruit must successfully complete a 32-week basic training course. Officer candidates and commando recruits both train at the Commando Training Centre Royal Marines, or CTCRM, at Lympstone in southwestern England.

Special Requirements for Officers

Officers must be at least 5 feet tall with weight proportional to height. They must be 17 to 26 years old on their date of entry into the service. Finally, there are academic requirements: at least 180 points earned in two "non-overlapping" subjects for the Universities & Colleges Admissions Service, and grades of C or better on five General Certificate of Secondary Education exams, which must include English and math.

Cite this Article A tool to create a citation to reference this article Cite this Article

About the Author

Cam Merritt is a writer and editor specializing in business, personal finance and home design. He has contributed to USA Today, The Des Moines Register and Better Homes and Gardens"publications. Merritt has a journalism degree from Drake University and is pursuing an MBA from the University of Iowa.