Types of Male Deer

Written by dan boone
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Types of Male Deer
Bull deer have elaborate and massive antlers, called crowns or cups. (NA/AbleStock.com/Getty Images)

There are over 100 species of deer in the world. They range in appearance from plain brown to spotted. Some deer are even red. All deer are members of the family Cervidae and include White-Tailed Deer, Elk, Moose, Red Deer, Reindeer, Roe and Chital. The four types of male deer are buck, hart, stag and bull.


"Buck" is a term that refers to male children who are becoming adolescents. It is similar to the terminology for classifying a male deer. "Buck" refers to a small male deer, typically less than 4 years old. Bucks have small antlers, only one tine or so, if they have any antlers at all.


Harts are usually known as red deers. They are near full maturity and live in temperate forests, woodlands and on mountains, from Europe to Asia and North America. Like most deer, their diet consists of grass, plants and twigs. They are usually between 69 to 91 inches long.


Stags are often known as red deers as well, and are considered to be full-grown in size. They come from Cervuscerus elephus, which is a European species related to elk. The male of the species has antlers called tines. A stag has a third- or fourth-generation tine, which can help determine its age, since a male deer's antlers drop off and regrow each year.


Bulls are the largest of male deer and include the caribou that lives in the Arctic. Bulls, the oldest of male deer, have extremely large hooves and massive antlers called "crowns" or "cups." Male deer have typically grown five sets of antlers by the time they become bulls.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.