Baby Teething Stages

Written by jennifer dobbin
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Baby Teething Stages
Teething can be an exciting but uncomfortable time for parents and babies. (Photodisc/Photodisc/Getty Images)

The first few years of a baby's life include many important milestones, such as first smiles, steps, words and teeth. At birth, a baby's jaw bone generally houses 20 primary teeth, which erupt in stages. The teething stages are only meant to be guidelines for parents, as each child develops at his own pace.


Incisors are the first teeth to erupt, usually starting with the lower central incisors at 6-10 months of age. The upper central incisors erupt when the baby is 8-12 months old. Next come the upper lateral incisors, at 9-13 months, and the lower lateral incisors, at 10-16 months.

Canines (cuspids)

The next teeth to erupt are the canines, also known as cuspids. The upper canines erupt at 16-22 months, and the lower canines erupt at 17-23 months.


A baby's first molars generally appear shortly after his first birthday. The upper first molars erupt at 13-19 months, and the lower first molars erupt at 14-18 months. Around the child's second birthday, the second molars begin to erupt. The lower second molars erupt at 23-31 months, and the upper second molars erupt at 25-33 months.

Losing Teeth

Children begin to lose their primary teeth at 6-7 years of age. By age 17-21 years, all permanent teeth have erupted.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.