How to Continue a Transfer in Skype on a PC

Written by morgan o'connor
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

Skype allows you to communicate with the world in various ways. It lets you chat via text either to other Skype users or by sending SMS messages to cell phones, as well as allowing you to make calls to Skype users and other phones. Additionally, it allows you to transfer files to other Skype users and receive files that they wish to transfer to you. If you are in the midst of a transfer and one or the other of you loses your Internet connection, you can continue the transfer later.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Click "Save As" beside the file your contact is sending you when you receive a notification in your chat window that he wants to send a file. This will open a new window.

  2. 2

    Click on the "OK" button in the new window. This will acknowledge that you are aware that the file may contain viruses and that you want to accept the transfer anyway.

  3. 3

    Choose the destination to which you want to save the file when the option appears, then click "Save." To stop the transfer without cancelling it, either you or your contact needs to sign out of Skype. You can do this deliberately, or it will happen automatically if either of you loses your Internet connection.

  4. 4

    Log back into Skype when you are ready to resume the transfer. Alternatively, if your contact was the one who logged out or lost his Internet connection, wait for him to log back onto Skype. Once you are both on Skype simultaneously again, look at the part of your chat describing the transfer. It should say "Connecting." The transfer will automatically resume a moment later and will continue until the file is fully transferred or either you or your contact logs off again.

Tips and warnings

  • If either you or your contact cancels the transfer (by clicking the "Cancel" button beside the transfer in the chat window), you will not be able to continue the transfer later. Instead, you will have to start the transfer all over again.

Don't Miss

References

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.