How to Delete Yahoo Search Results

Written by meaghan ellis Google
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

Yahoo! search results are generated when Yahoo's search engine is used. These results are then recorded, transferred to the browser's history and classified under a unique URL in the history folder. The browser history's files can be itemised, so you can locate and delete the specific Yahoo search results, without clearing the all of the history in the browser. Deleting these history files only takes seconds.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

    Internet Explorer

  1. 1

    Go to "View" in the Internet Explorer browser menu, across the top of the Internet browser.

  2. 2

    Scroll down the menu to "Explorer Bars," and slide your cursor to the collapsible menu that will appear on the right.

  3. 3

    Click "History" in the Explorer Bars collapse menu. The browser history will open in a pane on the left side of the Internet Explorer window. In Firefox, simply press the CTRL+H keys on your keyboard to open the open its history in a new pane.

  4. 4

    Read through the list of URL items in the browser history folder, and locate the URL item that reads "search.yahoo.com" in both Internet Explorer and Firefox.

  5. 5

    Right-click the "search.yahoo.com" URL item, and select the "Delete" action. The search.yahoo.com URL is the base URL for all Yahoo search results. Any search results related to this URL will also be deleted.

  6. 6

    A warning box will prompt you to confirm the action. Click "Yes." The Yahoo search results will be permanently deleted from the browser history.

Tips and warnings

  • If you want to delete specific Yahoo search results, click "Collapse," rather than "Delete" in Step 4, to view an itemised list of all Yahoo search results. Once you've found the search result item you want to delete, then proceed with Step 4.
  • As a result of the AutoComplete feature, Yahoo search results may also be stored to the search data forms, where you actually typed the search entry. If you'd like to delete this information also, see the resources below for more information.
  • Search results will not reappear unless you go back to Yahoo and search again. This action only deletes previous activity. It does not stop Yahoo search results from recording in the future when the search engine is used.
  • Some browsers have a security lock or code to prohibit history from being deleted by users. As a result, it's possible that only an administrative user will be able to remove items from the browser history.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.