Food Pyramid for Children

Written by sarah w. caron
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

A children's food pyramid emphasises that all of the food groups are important parts of nutrition. A children's food pyramid also encourages exercise as part of healthy daily habits. Children should be getting at least 30 minutes of exercise per day.

Other People Are Reading


At least half of the grains a child eats should be whole grains. The amount of grain recommended for children varies by age. For instance, children ages 4-8 should eat 113-142gr of grains per day


Children should eat vegetables that represent several colours (dark green, orange, etc). This rainbow style of eating ensures that children get proper nutrients. Children ages 4-8 should eat 1½ cups of vegetables per day.


Children should eat mostly raw fruits, as they have the greatest nutritional value. The recommended amounts vary based on age. A child ages 4-8 should have 1½ cups of fruit per day


Healthy fats found in oils help the body absorb nutrients. Although oils are also important to a child's body, they are needed only in small doses. The food pyramid doesn't specify a quantity of oils needed.


Dairy is an essential source of nutrients, including vitamin A and calcium. It provides nutrients needed for strong bones and healthy skin and hair. Dairy includes milk, cheese and yoghurt. Children ages 4-8 should consume 2 cups of dairy each day.

Meat, Fish, Beans and Nuts

Meat, fish, beans and nuts are sources of protein and vitamin B complex. These are needed for strong muscle growth, teeth development and more. Children ages 4-8 should eat 964gr of meat, fish, beans or nuts each day.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.