Online acls training & certification

Written by a.k. jayne
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Online acls training & certification
ACLS certification courses teach health care providers life support skills. (heart attack image by JASON WINTER from

ACLS stands for Advanced Cardiac Life Support. It teaches first-responders such as paramedics and nurse skills that can keep patient's alive until more intensive care can be administered. ACLS training can be completed online, allowing health care professionals to become certified at a time that does not conflict with work or family obligations.


Online training allows participants to learn at their own pace. Trainees can take the certification exam once they feel they have mastered the course materials. Additionally, online courses approved by organisations such as the American Heart Association (AHA) satisfy continuing education (CE) requirements for doctors, nurses and paramedics.


Becoming certified involves several steps. After registering online for a course, a provider manual is mailed, and the student can access the online course. Once the course is completed, the exam is taken and a provider card and CE certificate is mailed. However, before receiving the provider card, course participants must be sure to provide a clinical skill evaluation. This evaluation is performed at the participants workplace and documents the ability to carry out resuscitation techniques, according to the American Medical Resource Institute (AMRI).


Online ACLS certification courses contain modules covering topics including emergency ventilation, stroke, coronary syndromes, and ventricular fibrillation. Advanced directives (such as do-not-resuscitate orders) are also covered. Online certification courses may also offer online simulation of scenarios such as treating a patient in respiratory distress.


Online ACLS certification courses provide participants with instant feedback as they respond to scenarios presented in the course. Additionally, online ACLS certification courses allow users to prepare for the certification exam at their own pace.


Once certification is earned, it must be renewed every two years. Re-certification courses can be taken online, allowing providers to maintain ACLS certification. This is beneficial for health care workers who cannot take time away from work to travel to a re-certification class. Passing the certification and re-certification exams requires a minimum score of 84 per cent. A retest is available if a candidate does not pass.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.