Assessment tools for children's development

Child image by Serenitie from

Assessment tools allow parents, guardians, and educators to evaluate how a child is developing. These assessment tools might evaluate the physical, verbal, intellectual, social and emotional aspects of a child's development.

Usually these assessments are given by an assessment specialist or childhood professionals, like child psychologists, language specialists or paediatricians.

Early Childhood Assessments

Two different assessments that can be used on young children are the AAMD Adaptive Behavior Scale and the Baley Scale of Infant Development. The AAMD Adaptive Behavior Scale is typically used on children who are at least three years old. It uses a questionnaire to figure out what self-help and social skills areas the child is strong and weak in. Children are scored with a percentage. The Baley Scale tests children who are between two and 30 months old. The assessment uses three scales to measure cognitive and motor skills.

Intermediate Childhood Assessments

Two assessments that are used for intermediate children are the Bender Gestalt Test and the Alpern Boll Developmental Profile. Both are capable of testing children up to age 11, but the Bender Gestalt Test only assesses perceptual motor functioning. A percentage score based on the norms for the child's age is given when the child has completed the Bender Gestalt Test. The Albern Boll Developmental Profile tests gross and fine motor, self-help, social, cognitive, and language skills. This test is administered using an interview-style assessment and an overall IQ equivalent is given based on the child's age.

Senior Childhood Assessments

The Peabody Individual Achievement Test (PIAT) is an individually administered childhood assessment tool that can be used for children who are in 12th grade or younger. The PIAT is composed of four different tests: one in math, one in reading, one in spelling, and one in general knowledge. The test gives three types of scoring: a grade equivalent, a per cent and a standard.