A List of the 10 Commandments for Catholics

The 10 Commandments is a list of moral guidelines prescribed by the Bible. Its origins are from the books of Deuteronomy and Exodus, which inscribes the words spoken by God at Mount Sinai to the people of Israel.

Several religious denominations group the words differently, resulting in various interpretations of the same text. The grouping by the Catholic Church combines the first few verses into one law and divides the last verse into two laws.

Worship Only One God

The first commandment combines Exodus 20:2-6 into one law. Other religions break this into two laws about worshipping one god and worshipping idols. The Bible says there is only one God and no other gods should to be worshipped. It also instructs not to make idols or bow down to them. The punishment for breaking this law will extend to the next generation.

  • The first commandment combines Exodus 20:2-6 into one law.
  • The Bible says there is only one God and no other gods should to be worshipped.

Do Not Blaspheme God's Name

The next verse says God will not allow his name to be misused. He will hold a person guilty for using his name in vain.

Respect the Sabbath

Sabbath is the seventh day, which according to the Bible is a time for rest and when all work is prohibited. Exodus 20:8-11 says that since God created the world in six days and rested on the seventh day, he will keep the seventh day as holy and require his followers to do the same.

Honour Your Parents

The verses expound that to live long on the land that God has given, it is necessary to respect one's parents.

Do Not Kill

Other religious denominations restate this commandment as do not murder, but the Catholic church uses the word kill to generalise the subject and include other forms of life cessation.

Do Not Commit Adultery

In Catholic definition, adultery refers to the carnal relationship between a married person and an unmarried person or between a married person and another person's spouse. This commandment prohibits these activities.

Do Not Steal

The seventh commandment forbids theft, or the taking of another person's property without consent from the owner.

Do Not Give False Testimony

While other denominations narrow this law into forbidding false testimony in court, the Catholic Church interprets this command as the general prohibition of lying or misrepresenting the truth.

Do Not Covet Your Neighbor's Wife

Catholic catechism defines covetousness as concupiscence or the intense form of human desire. The ninth commandment prohibits lustful thoughts about another person's spouse.

Do Not Covert Your Neighbor's Goods

The 10th commandment extends the prohibition of covetousness to another person's property. This is different from the seventh commandment, which refers to the actual taking of the property, because this one refers to thoughts and desires.