What Are the Seven Wonders of the World and Where Are They Located?

Written by cate julia
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
What Are the Seven Wonders of the World and Where Are They Located?
Christ the Redeemer statue in Brazil is one of the new seven wonders. (Christ the redeemer image by rrruss from Fotolia.com)

According to the Travel Channel, the original Seven Wonders of the World (sometimes known as the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World) is a list of man-made structures built in the Classical Era and defined as wonders by ancient historians in the second century B.C. Many of these structures are no longer in existence, such as the Hanging Gardens of Babylon and the Colossus of Rhodes. But in 2007, over 100 million people voted and created a new list of seven wonders.

Other People Are Reading

Great Wall of China

At over 5,000 miles, the Great Wall is the longest man-made structure in the world. It was built between the 5th century B.C. and the 16th century to protect the borders of the Chinese Empire from the Mongols. It spans northern China from East to West and was designated a World Heritage site in 1987. Visitors can travel to Beijing to see parts of this magnificent structure.

What Are the Seven Wonders of the World and Where Are They Located?
The Great Wall (Great wall of china image by Charles Jacques from Fotolia.com)

Christ the Redeemer Statue

Located in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, this 130-foot statue on Corcovado Mountain in the National Park of Tijuca was designed by engineer Heitor da Silva Costa and is a widely recognised Brazilian image. Visitors can visit the statue by train in Corcovado. The tour is open from 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Sunday.

Machu Picchu

This ruin in Peru was part of the Incan Empire built in the mid 15th century and later abandoned. Known only to locals, it was rediscovered in 1911 by archaeologist Hiram Bingham. The ruins can be reached by foot, helicopter or train. The name Machu Picchu means Old Mountain, according to the Peru cultural foundation website. On many days rainbows can be seen from the location. Many temples and palaces still remain

Chichen Itza

Before they were ruins, this city was the political and economic hub of the Mayan civilisation. As a trading centre for cloth, slaves, salt and honey this city flourished between 800 and 1200 A.D. The astronomical observatory, El Caracol is the most known ruin. It is located in the Yucatán Peninsula in Mexico.

The Roman Colosseum

This elliptical structure, located in the centre of Rome, Italy, was built between 70 and 80 A.D and was in use for about 500 years. It could seat nearly 50,000 spectators and its design influences the construction of many modern day amphitheatres.

What Are the Seven Wonders of the World and Where Are They Located?
The Colosseum (Roman colloseum image by Minx from Fotolia.com)

Taj Mahal

By many, the Taj Mahal is considered a perfect example of Muslim art in India. It was built between 1632 and 1648 in Agra, India as a commissioned mausoleum for the wife of Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan. Its architecture incorporates Persian, Turkish, Islamic, and Indian styles. The surrounding grounds include formal gardens and a linear reflecting pool.

What Are the Seven Wonders of the World and Where Are They Located?
Taj Mahal (Taj Mahal image by Jono026 from Fotolia.com)


This wonder, located in Jordan, was declared a World Heritage site in 1985. Petra was the capital of the Nabataean empire of King Aretas IV. The members of this civilisation created a pseudo oasis by manipulating water technology. It has several structures carved into stone, a 4,000 seat amphitheatre and the El-Deir monastery.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.