Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs Activity

Written by micah mcdunnigan
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs Activity
Maslow created a hierarchy to describe the levels of human needs. (beach activities image by jeancliclac from

Maslow's hierarchy of needs comes from Dr. Abraham Maslow's 1943 article "A Theory of Human Motivation." In it, the psychologist set out the goals toward which humans directed their activities to reach, and the prerequisite goals for each one.

Hierarchy Base

The first needs, in the same order, which Maslow theorised that human activity strove to achieve were the physiological needs of staying alive, followed by safety from harm, acceptance into a social system, and the need for esteem. Maslow theorised the last item as esteem in the eyes of others, such as being recognised as competent in a field.

Second Tier

The hierarchy base specified the base components humans need to continue growing. The next need was for intellectual growth and exploration. After that, came the need for order and aesthetic beauty.

Final Tier

The last steps of Maslow's hierarchy were self-actualisation and self-transcendence. He considered self-actualisation the attainment of what you believed to be your full potential. After that, the activity of self-transcendence was reaching down to those still climbing the hierarchy to help them attain self-actualisation.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.