Can You Have Triple Citizenship?

Pille of passport image by Marek Kosmal from <a href=''></a>

Triple citizenship means holding citizenship under the laws of three countries (or laying claim to three nationalities). It is possible to hold dual, triple or multiple citizenship in some countries. In other countries, it is not allowed; you will be obliged to give up citizenship of one country before taking up citizenship of another. Generally, countries that allow dual citizenship will also allow triple citizenship.

Circumstances of Triple Citizenship

the marriage image by Warren Millar from <a href=''></a>

A person usually has dual nationality through marriage, through adoption by parents who are of a different nationality or by birth in one country to parents who are of a different nationality, according to the United States Office of Personnel Management Investigations Service. In some circumstances, it may be that a person can obtain citizenship by naturalisation. Occasionally there is an agreement between countries recognising dual citizenship. Triple citizenship occurs where a person qualifies for three of these factors in three different countries.

Countries That Allow Dual or Multiple Citizenship

uk flag image by kolesn from <a href=''></a>

The U.K. has no restrictions on dual or multiple citizenship, according to the U.K. Border Agency. However, if you are already a citizen of a country where dual citizenship is not allowed, then you may have to give up that citizenship before becoming a British citizen. Alternatively, the first country may refuse to recognise your new nationality. Therefore, it is important to find out what the position is with all countries involved. To obtain triple citizenship, all three countries must agree. Other countries that allow dual citizenship include the United States, Barbados, Bulgaria, Canada and France, according to the United States Office of Personnel Management Investigations Service.

Countries That Do Not Allow Dual or Multiple Citizenship

china image by Luisafer from <a href=''></a>

Many countries do not allow multiple citizenship. There are various reasons for this. Dual citizenship can be problematic if the different countries' laws are at odds with each other, or if there are military issues between the countries. There may also be difficulties around providing protection abroad. Countries that do not recognise dual or multiple citizenship include Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Bangladesh and China, according to the United States Office of Personnel Management Investigations Service.


Germany image by Perth from <a href=''></a>

Some countries do not allow dual or multiple citizenship as a rule, but may allow exceptions. For example, in principle, Germany does not recognise dual citizenship, but in practice, German citizens who become citizens of another country can be granted a decree from the government in Germany allowing them to remain German citizens as well. Also, in Germany, since 2000, dual citizenship is permitted until the citizen reaches the age of 23. Another example of an exception is Brazil, where in principle, dual citizenship is not recognised, but in practice children who have Brazilian parents and are born overseas can hold dual citizenship.

Most recent