We Value Your Privacy

We and our partners use technology such as cookies on our site to personalise content and ads, provide social media features, and analyse our traffic. Click below to consent to the use of this technology across the web. You can change your mind and change your consent choices at anytime by returning to this site.

Update Consent
Loading ...

What type of habitat do woodlice live in?

Updated July 19, 2017

Woodlice are small animals measuring about 15mm. They belong to the arthropod class known as crustaceans, and they have a variety of colloquial names, such as potato bugs, Bibble bugs or roly-polys. There are 3,500 known types of woodlice in the world.

Loading ...


Woodlice love moist or humid soil, and are constantly seeking moisture. That is why they are often found in many dark and humid places in your home or yard, such as basements, plants and piles of leaves.

Eating habits

Their diet mostly consists of decaying vegetable material and fungi. Woodlice can sometimes feed on the roots of young plants, thus damaging them. These tiny animals also eat their own faeces which contain the fungi and bacteria that are part of their diet


Woodlice cannot bite you. However, they can become a pest since they reproduce very rapidly and in great quantities. Female woodlice can lay up to two dozen eggs at a time, and they lay about three broods per year.


Woodlice have 14 legs, seven on each side. Therefore, they cannot be considered insects. They are arthropods and are more closely related to crabs since they are part of the crustacean class.

Loading ...

About the Author

Gaby Hernandez has been writing biblical discourses and essays on religious topics since 1998. In 2008, she began writing articles on early human development and the difficulties of adolescence that were published on an online outlet. Hernandez holds a Bachelor of Arts in child and adolescent development from California State University, Northridge.

Loading ...