Yeast Foods to Avoid

Updated February 21, 2017

Yeast naturally occurs in our world. The varieties are numerous and have been used for baking and brewing for many centuries. People with an intolerance to gluten, known as coeliac disease, are allergic to both Saccharomyces cerevisiae yeast and Candida albicans. Saccharomyces cerevisiae yeast is used regularly in food production. Symptoms of yeast allergy can include acne and rashes, abdominal cramps or bloating, migraines, weight gain or loss and nausea. When you are gluten intolerant, you should know what yeast foods to avoid.

Yeast Bread and Baked Goods

Bread and baked goods made with yeast should be avoided when you are allergic to yeast. These foods can also contain sugar, a food source that gives candida yeast the energy it needs to live and grow. Other baked goods to avoid include bagels and pretzels; doughnuts and cakes may often contain yeast.

Beer and Wine

Yeast is needed to create beer and wine, so both beverages should be avoided. Included in this category is sake, a wine made from rice.


All fruits should be avoided, as they contain yeast. This includes raw or cooked fruit, fruit juice, and ciders made from apples and other fruit.

Seasonings and Sauces

Bouillon cubes should be avoided, as they contain yeast. Bouillon cubes are made from dehydrated broth, which could come from beef, chicken or vegetables. Soy sauce should also be avoided since it contains yeast. If you are in England or Australia, you need to avoid the popular vegetarian spreads Vegemite and Marmite. They are yeast-based products only available in imported foods stores in the U.S.

Cite this Article A tool to create a citation to reference this article Cite this Article

About the Author

Marjorie Gilbert is a freelance writer and published author. An avid researcher, Gilbert has created an Empire gown (circa 1795 to 1805) from scratch, including drafting the gown's patterns by hand.